Learning to live, living to learn


Assessment in EYFS (Robins)

At Clifton All Saints Academy, we use the statutory reception baseline assessment to develop an accurate picture of where each child is with their learning in key areas of the Foundation Stage curriculum. This helps us to ensure that the learning in Robin's Class is accurately tailored to the children’s needs.

We use the  ‘Development Matters,’ age banded descriptors, to monitor children’s progress in Robins. The Early Years Curriculum underwent significant reforms which are statutory from September 2021. All Saints Academy was an 'Early Adopter' school and embedded the reforms into their practice during the academic year 2020-2021. 

At the end of the year, children’s attainment is assessed against the Early Learning Goals. This assessment is shared with the parents at the end of the year.

Year 1 Phonics Test

In the summer term children in Year 1 take the Phonics Screening Check. This test looks at the children's ability to use a phonic approach to read a list of real and ‘nonsense’ words. The test has a pass mark (determined by the government each year) and the results are shared with parents at the end of the year. Children who do not achieve the pass mark in Y1 are re-tested at the end of Y2 and the results of this assessment are also shared with parents.

Year 2 SATS

Standard Assessment Tasks (SATs) are administered in year 2 (the end of National Curriculum Key Stage 1). Their purpose is to give an indication of each child’s performance. Children are assessed in writing, reading and maths. Speaking and listening skills and scientific knowledge are also assessed by the teacher.  These tests are used to support the teachers judgements concerning each child's attainment. 

Year 4 Multiplication Check (MTC)

The purpose of the MTC is to determine whether pupils can recall their times tables fluently, which is essential for future success in mathematics. We will use this check to identify pupils who have not yet mastered their times tables, so that additional support can be provided.

Continuous Formative Assessment Y1-Y4

A system of continuous assessment, both formal and informal, is used to monitor pupils’ progress throughout the school. The information obtained provides a basis on which the teacher will plan appropriate programmes of work. It also enables us to identify any areas where further support might be needed, to ensure that every child is achieving their best.

All Saints Academy is using  'Balance’  to assess children. Subject leaders and class teachers have identified  ‘Key Performance Indicators’ (KPIs). KPIs are a chosen selection of the National Curriculum objectives and are used to assess and make judgements concerning the attainment of each child. This information is then updated by teachers and tracked throughout the year, with the aim of ensuring that by the summer term, all of the KPIs have been achieved for that year. This is the ‘expected standard’ at the end of each year.

In Year 2 all schools have to follow the Y2 assessment framework produced by the DfE. This provides objectives, based on the National Curriculum that, in the same way as the KPIs, children have to achieve, to be meeting the 'expected standard'.